Cheerfully

Work hard and cheerfully at whatever you [write], as though you were [writing] for the Lord rather than people. Remember that the Lord will give you an inheritance as your reward and the Master you are serving is Christ.
-Colossians 3:23-24, NLT

It’s easy to get in a slump as a writer because editors and publishers send us continuous streams of rejection letters. Cheer up! Write your manuscript with a song of joy in your heart. Respond to God’s call to write and write it for Him. He will reward you with a rich inheritance after you complete the task, even if you never see it in print. Leave the prospects of publication in His hands and get back to writing your next assignment from God–with joy.

Dear God, please renew my vision. Give me a new song in my heart as I write. Help me keep my eyes on pleasing You as Your scribe, rather than just trying to land a contract. Amen.

-photo of coral at Sea World by Nancy I. Sanders

