Trust


[God] said to me, “You are my servant
and you will bring me glory.”
I replied, “But my work all seems so useless!
I have spent my strength for nothing
and to no purpose at all.
Yet I leave it all in the Lord’s hand;
I will trust God for my reward.”
And now the Lord speaks–
He who formed me in my mother’s womb
to be his servant,
who commissioned me to bring his people
of Israel back to him.
The Lord has honored me,
and my God has given me strength.
He says, “You will do more than
restore the people of Israel.
I will make you a light to the Gentiles,
and you will bring my salvation
to the ends of the earth.”
-Isaiah 49:3-6, NLT

Wow! What a powerful Scripture for a writer! So often we write and write, but we never see our words published. We feel like all our work and all our effort has been meaningless and accomplished no purpose at all.

Dear Lord, I give it all back into Your hand. I WILL write. If you choose to reward my efforts with publication, money or fame–or not–what is that to me? You have Your purpose! You have called me to be Your scribe. You formed me and commissioned me to write Your words to bring restoration and salvation. You have called me! I will write. Amen.

-photo of mountain along Pacific Coast Highway, CA by Nancy I. Sanders

